Government bonds

Highly popular with investors for their defensive qualities, eurozone government bonds merit a place in a well-diversified portfolio since they add to its stability.

What are government bonds?

A sovereign bond (also called a bon d'Etat/Staatsbon in Belgium) is a bond issued in the medium to long term by a government that guarantees full repayment of capital at maturity and the payment of an annual coupon. The risks that it presents are primarily those relating to the solvency of the issuing State and to the currency in which it is issued.


  • Terms and conditions of the loan issue known from the outset (term, coupons, etc.).
  • Repayment in full of the nominal value at maturity
  • Safe-bet investments: when the stock markets are in turmoil, sovereign bonds are seen as a safe-bet investment and prove to be less volatile than other classes of bond.
  • Eurozone sovereign bonds add to the stability of a portfolio.


Overview actual issues of Government bonds


Get full details of this package

In comparison with other classes of bonds, the risks inherent in eurozone government bonds are relatively limited.

  • Low insolvency risk: the State is generally viewed as the best possible debtor. The ratings attributed by rating agencies also give investors an idea of the solvency of the issuing country. 
  • Very limited liquidity risk: the large volume of long-term public debt of most EMU members ensures good liquidity for sovereign bonds on the secondary market and greatly reduces counterparty risk.
  • Exchange risk for government loans denominated in foreign currencies. Exchange risk means that on redemption the investor may receive an amount in euros that is less than the initial euro investment. 
  • Interest-rate risk: the price of a government bond fluctuates in line with market conditions.


To achieve a higher return, an investor can diversify his sovereign bond portfolio by including bonds issued by governments outside the eurozone. He must then be aware of the fact that the risks to which he is exposed will also be higher, a higher yield generally going hand in hand with high volatility. To manage risk effectively, a private investor may resort to a bond fund, which provides him with broad diversification even with limited capital.

Primary market

When a new bond is issued, investors may subscribe to it on the primary market at a set price for a set period of time, the so-called “subscription period”.

In Belgium, the Treasury issues bons d'Etat/Staatsbons four times a year (in March, June, September and December).

Take a look at our primary market (pdf, FR) offering.


Secondary market

Government bonds are traded on the stock market. To purchase a bond after the subscription period has expired or to sell it before it matures, the investor must go through the secondary market. The price at which a bond can be purchased or sold is determined by the price at which the bond is quoted, which fluctuates constantly. It fluctuates on the basis of various factors, such as the residual maturity of the bond, the issuer's financial health, how soon the coupon will be paid, as well as the nominal value and money market rates. As a general rule, when money market rates rise, the prices of outstanding bonds have a tendency to fall, and vice versa.


List of bond issues open for subscription (FR)Information leaflet on financial instruments (pdf)Rates and charges for securities transactions (pdf)

Print full details of this product

Bons d'État

Fort appréciés des investisseurs pour leurs qualités défensives, les bons d'État de la zone euro méritent une place dans tout portefeuille bien diversifié, dont ils renforcent la stabilité.

Que sont les bons d'État ?

Une obligation souveraine - aussi appelée "Bon d'État" en Belgique - est une obligation émise à moyen/long terme par un État, qui prévoit le remboursement à 100% du capital à l'échéance et la distribution d'un coupon annuel. Le risque qu'elle présente est essentiellement lié à la solvabilité de l'État émetteur ainsi qu'à la devise d'émission.

Avantages des bons d'État

  • Les conditions des bons d'État sont connues dès le départ (durée, coupons...).
  • Les bons d'État sont remboursés à 100% de la valeur nominale à l'échéance.
  • Certains bons d'État sont des valeurs refuges: en période de turbulences boursières, les  bons d'État bénéficient de leur statut de valeurs refuge et se montrent moins volatils que les autres catégories d'obligations.
  • Certains bons d'État de la zone euro contribuent à la stabilité du portefeuille.

 

 

Plus d'infos du gestionnaire sur les Bons d'État

 

 

Les bons d'État en détail

Par comparaison aux autres catégories d'obligations, les bons d'État de la zone euro présentent des risques relativement limités :

  • Risque d'insolvabilité relatif : certains États sont généralement considérés comme de bons débiteurs. Les ratings attribués par les agences de notation permettent en outre à l'investisseur de se faire une bonne idée de la solvabilité des pays émetteurs. 
  • Risque de liquidité très limité : le volume important de la dette publique à long terme de la plupart des membres de l'UEM assure une bonne liquidité des bons d'État sur le marché secondaire et réduit fortement le risque de contrepartie.
  • Risque de change pour les bons d'État libellés en devises étrangères. Le risque de change implique qu'à l'échéance, l'investisseur pourrait recevoir un montant en euro inférieur au montant en euro initialement investi. 
  • Risque de taux d'intérêt : le cours d'un bon d'État varie en fonction des conditions de marché.

 

Pour viser un rendement plus élevé, l'investisseur peut diversifier son portefeuille d'obligations souveraines en y incluant des bons d'État ne relevant pas de la zone euro. Il doit alors être conscient que les risques auxquels il s'expose augmentent également, des taux élevés allant en général de pair avec une volatilité importante. Pour un meilleur contrôle du risque, l'investisseur particulier peut recourir à un fonds obligataire, qui lui offrira une grande diversification même avec un capital limité.

Marché primaire

Lorsqu'un nouvel emprunt obligataire est émis, l'investisseur peut y souscrire sur le marché primaire pendant une période bien définie, appelée "période d'émission", et à un prix fixe.

En Belgique, le Trésor émet des bons d'État quatre fois par an (mars, juin, septembre et décembre).

Découvrez notre offre sur le marché primaire (pdf).

 

Marché secondaire

Les bons d'État se négocient en Bourse. Pour acquérir une obligation après la période d'émission ou la vendre avant son échéance, l'investisseur doit passer par le marché secondaire. Le prix d'achat ou de vente est alors déterminé par le cours de l'obligation, qui varie constamment. Il fluctue en effet en fonction de divers éléments, comme la durée résiduelle de l'obligation, la santé financière de l'émetteur, la proximité d'un paiement de coupon, mais aussi le taux facial et les taux du marché. En règle générale, quand les taux du marché montent, les cours des obligations existantes ont tendance à diminuer, et inversement. 

 


Imprimer tous les détails des bons d'État