Your income when you retire

The four pillars of the Belgian pension system are relevant to you, whether you've always been self-employed or have followed a mixed career (employment and self-employment, concurrent or separate, in your own right or as a supporting spouse).


The four pillars of the pension system in Belgium

1st pillar: the State pension

In Belgium, everyone has a right to a State pension. You too. This is guaranteed by the Belgian government.


However, not everyone will receive the same amount, far from it: Your State pension will not necessarily be sufficient to maintain your standard of living. In most cases, the State pension is significantly less than your last salary.
Hence the importance of building up a supplementary pension.


How much your future pension will be depends on your occupational status, your gross salary, the number of years worked and your family circumstances.


Belgians have one of the lowest basic pensions in Europe. In 2005, the average pension in Belgium was EUR 12,000, compared with EUR 14,000 to EUR 18,000 in comparable countries.


Depending on your occupational status, you currently receive on average:

  • EUR 2,273 (civil servant)
  • EUR 1,077 (employee)
  • EUR 758 (self-employed)
  • EUR 1,119 (overall average for Belgium)


2nd pillar: supplementary occupational pension

The second pillar encompasses all the supplementary pension schemes linked to an occupational activity. There is preferential tax treatment for building up a supplementary pension. Under this pillar, the provisions for self-employed people and employees are different.


Self-employed people (or supporting spouses)/members of the professions/company managers
Self-employed people, supporting spouses, company managers and members of the professions may, on their own initiative, save towards a supplementary pension under the second pillar. The need to build up additional pension is, indeed, most pressing for this group. The Voluntary Supplementary Pension Scheme for the Self-Employed (PCLI/VAPZ) allows you to save towards a supplementary pension, while also offering protection in the event of premature death. The premiums are treated as social security contributions, which means they are professional expenses deductible at the marginal rate of tax. This enables self-employed people to claim back 53.50% of the premiums paid in and to reduce their social security contributions (calculated on professional earnings less the amount of the premiums).


Medical profession (health care practitioners)

Health care practitioners (physicians, physiotherapists, dentists and pharmacists) in receipt of annual payments under the INAMI/RIZIV social benefits system can use some or all of those payments to build up a Voluntary Supplementary Pension Scheme for the Self-Employed as part of a 'social' pension agreement.


It is highly recommended that you combine this with a second level financed by your own funds, so that you get the full tax and social security benefit.

Certain employers fund a supplementary pension for their employees through a group insurance policy or pension fund. This is an attractive form of deferred salary which can provide you with significant lump sum capital when you retire. Group insurance is generally provided by major companies. This system has not yet spread to all companies. On average, the amount paid out under a group insurance policy is EUR 70,000 before tax. This sum may be paid in the form of lump sum capital or a life annuity.

3rd pillar: personal pension savings with a tax break

Fortunately, you can take matters into your own hands to ensure that you have a comfortable pension. Your pension savings will enable you to put aside a sizeable capital sum. You can choose between pension savings and long-term savings or a combination of both. In addition, these savings packages give you a tax break. You have less tax to pay, which is always worth taking up.


Pension savings: in 2014, every taxpayer can save up to EUR 940.
In the case of pension savings, you can choose between an investment fund and a pension savings insurance policy.


Long-term savings: with this package, you can save up to EUR 2,260 in 2014, per taxpayer and depending on your professional income.


BNP Paribas Fortis recommends combining pension savings with long-term savings. This enables you to make full use of the maximum tax break. In addition, it will provide you with a sizeable capital sum over time that you could convert to a monthly annuity when you reach the age of 60 or 65.

4th pillar: voluntary personal savings without a tax break

Combined, the Voluntary Supplementary Pension Scheme for the Self-Employed, pension savings and long-term saving can provide you with a sizeable capital sum over time. But the maximum deductible amounts are small.
Would you like to give your pension a boost? Or to make up as much as possible for the shortfall compared with your last professional income?

We would therefore recommend to you our Planning for Pension investment insurance. There are no tax breaks. However, you do have the guarantee that everything will be completely in order. For later.

Your income when you retire

Vos revenus au moment de votre pension

Que vous soyez indépendant depuis toujours ou effectuiez une carrière mixte (salarié + indépendant, complémentaire ou non, conjoint aidant), les 4 piliers du système de pension belge vous concernent.

 

Les 4 piliers du système de pension en Belgique

1er pilier : la pension légale

Dans notre pays, tout le monde a droit à une pension légale. Vous aussi. Le gouvernement le garantit.

 

Toutefois, chacun ne reçoit pas le même montant, loin s'en faut. Votre pension légale n'est pas toujours suffisante pour maintenir votre niveau de vie. Dans la plupart des cas, la pension légale est nettement inférieure au dernier salaire.
D'où l'importance de vous constituer une pension complémentaire.

 

Le montant de votre future pension dépend de votre statut professionnel, de votre salaire brut, du nombre d'années de travail et de votre situation familiale.

 

Le Belge a l'une des pensions les plus basses en Europe. En 2005, la pension moyenne s'élevait chez nous à 12.000 EUR, contre 14.000 à 18.000 EUR dans des pays comparables.

 

En fonction de votre statut professionnel, vous recevez aujourd'hui en moyenne :

  • 2.273 EUR (fonctionnaire)
  • 1.077 EUR (salarié)
  • 758 EUR (indépendant)
  • 1.119 EUR (moyenne générale pour la Belgique)

 

2e pilier : la pension complémentaire liée à l'activité professionnelle

Le deuxième pilier regroupe tous les régimes de pension extra-légaux issus de l'activité professionnelle. Cette constitution de pension complémentaire jouit d'un traitement fiscal préférentiel. Ce pilier prévoit des dispositions distinctes pour les indépendants et les salariés.

 

Indépendants (ou conjoints aidants) / professions libérales / dirigeants d'entreprise
Les travailleurs indépendants, conjoints aidants, dirigeants d'entreprise et titulaires d'une professions libérales peuvent, de leur propre initiative, se constituer une pension complémentaire dans le cadre du deuxième pilier. C'est, en effet, pour eux, que la nécessité de se constituer un complément de pension s'impose le plus. La Pension Complémentaire Libre pour Indépendants (PCLI) permet d'une part la constitution d'un capital complémentaire et offre d'autre part un contrat de protection en cas de décès prématuré. Les primes sont assimilées à des cotisations sociales. À ce titre, elles constituent des charges professionnelles déductibles au taux marginal, ce qui permet à l'indépendant de récupérer 53,50% des primes versées et de payer moins de cotisations sociales (calculées sur le revenu professionnel diminué du montant des primes).

 

Professions médicales (prestataires de soins de santé)

Les prestataires de soins de santé (médecins, kinésithérapeutes, dentistes et pharmaciens) qui bénéficient d'une intervention financière de l'INAMI (= la cotisation INAMI annuelle) dans le cadre des avantages sociaux INAMI peuvent affecter cette intervention (ou une partie de celle-ci) à la constitution d'une Pension Complémentaire Libre pour Indépendants (PCLI-INAMI) dans le cadre d'une convention "sociale" de pension.

Le cumul avec un second plan financé par vos fonds propres est tout à fait conseillé. Vous profiterez ainsi de l'avantage fiscal et social maximum.

 

Salariés
Par le biais de l'assurance-groupe ou du fonds de pension, certains employeurs financent une pension complémentaire pour leurs travailleurs. Il s'agit là d'une forme intéressante de salaire différé, qui peut vous valoir un joli capital au moment de la retraite. Ce sont surtout les grandes entreprises qui prévoient une assurance-groupe. Ce système n'est pas encore généralisé à toutes les entreprises. En moyenne, le montant versé par une assurance-groupe est de 70.000 EUR avant impôts. Ce montant peut être payé sous la forme d'un capital ou d'une rente viagère.

3e pilier : épargne-pension individuelle avec avantage fiscal

Pour vous assurer une pension confortable, vous pouvez heureusement prendre vous-même les choses en mains. Vos efforts en matière d'épargne-pension vous permettront de mettre de côté un joli capital. Vous avez le choix entre l'épargne-pension, l'épargne à long terme ou une combinaison des deux. Ces formules d'épargne vous rapportent un avantage fiscal. Vous avez moins d'impôts à payer. Ce qui est toujours bon à prendre.

 

Epargne-pension : investir jusqu'à 940 EUR par contribuable en 2014.
Dans le cas de l'épargne-pension, vous pouvez choisir entre un fonds de placement et une assurance épargne-pension.

 

Epargne à long terme : avec cette formule, chaque contribuable peut épargner 2260 euros (année de revenus 2014, exercice d'imposition 2015). Ce qui représente un avantage fiscal direct de 678 euros. Par contribuable et en fonction de votre revenu professionnel.

 

BNP Paribas Fortis recommande de combiner l'épargne-pension et l'épargne à long terme. Ainsi, vous êtes assuré d'un avantage fiscal maximal. De plus, cela vous rapporte à terme un joli capital que vous pouvez parfaitement convertir en une rente mensuelle à l'âge de 60 ou 65 ans.

4e pilier : épargne individuelle libre sans avantage fiscal

La Pension Complémentaire Libre pour Indépendants, l'épargne-pension et l'épargne à long terme combinées peuvent vous rapporter à terme un joli capital. Mais les montants maximaux déductibles sont limités.
ous aimeriez vous assurer un ballon d'oxygène supplémentaire à la pension ? Ou combler autant que possible le fossé par rapport à votre dernier revenu professionnel ?

Nous vous recommandons alors notre assurance de placement Planning for Pension. Il n'y a pas d'avantages fiscaux. Mais vous avez la garantie que tout sera parfaitement en ordre. Pour plus tard.

 
Vos revenus au moment de la pension

 

Imprimer