Asymmetric Management

Asymmetric Management is a unique diversification concept for your portfolio, offered by BNP Paribas Fortis Private Banking as part of a Discretionary Management mandate. Asymmetric management is implemented in combination with more traditional management schemes.

What is Asymmetric Management?

Investing asymmetrically meets two objectives: benefiting from price gains when financial markets are on the up and seeking the security of fixed income, real estate and/or cash investments when they are volatile or heading downwards.

Accordingly, with this approach you do not systematically obtain the maximum return when markets are on the up. On the other hand, you can limit the losses when markets fall.


  • Return: You are certain of being present on the markets when they are rising.
  • Peace of mind: You avoid major unpleasant surprises when markets fall.
  • Diversification: An asymmetric portfolio is, by its nature, highly diversified.


Investment risks

By their nature, investments have a speculative side; there are risks involved in the uncertainties of financial markets and products – and of the stocks and/or issuers underlying them.

The investment service contracts entered into by BNP Paribas Fortis Private Banking generally only commit it to a best-efforts obligation.



More information about investment risks


 More detailed information about this service

The Portfolio Fund Management Asymmetric mandate is based on a more flexible strategy than the benchmark offers. It offers an asymmetric range of financial instruments. In other words, each fund (UCI) included in our selection has its own risk management and control model and so reacts differently to changes in market conditions.

BNP Paribas Fortis Private Banking has five different sub-funds tailored to your risk profile: Conservative, Defensive, Balanced, Dynamic and Growth. However, a capital loss in the portfolio cannot be entirely ruled out.

Stock market cycles are tending to shorten. It is therefore advisable to remain vigilant in order to able to safeguard investment performance when financial markets are falling. This is an argument in favour of asymmetric funds, which are more dynamic and thus more active in relation to cycles than traditional funds.

While including several asymmetric solutions within a portfolio is already an excellent idea in itself, optimising portfolio management by selecting and weighting multiple asymmetric solutions is even more effective.


Our team of experienced specialists ensure this monitoring by modifying the benchmark portfolios – one for each risk/return profile – on the basis of market situations and our investment strategy. Management decisions are monitored continuously and immediately implemented in your portfolio by the management team.

Heavy losses have a major impact on the future results and gains of your investment portfolio. In the event of financial markets deteriorating, your appointed manager takes all necessary steps to limit the negative performance over a year at a level predetermined by mutual agreement with you. However, no guarantee can be given that this defensive objective will be achieved. A reduction in the invested capital cannot be entirely ruled out.

Due to their defensive strategy, asymmetric funds do not generally profit in full from financial market gains either.

If you have a Conservative, Defensive or Balanced risk/return profile, the "PFM Asymmetric" mandate is an appropriate solution for a gift by transfer with financial conditions. Ask your private banker for details.



Contact our private bankers for information and customised simulations



Print full details of this product

Gestion asymétrique

La Gestion asymétrique est un concept unique de diversification de votre portefeuille, proposé par BNP Paribas Fortis Private Banking dans le cadre d'un mandat de Gestion discrétionnaire. La Gestion asymétrique est mise en œuvre en combinaison avec des formules de gestion plus classiques.

Qu'est-ce que la Gestion asymétrique ?

Investir de manière asymétrique répond à un double objectif : profiter des hausses de cours lorsque les marchés financiers sont bien orientés et rechercher la sécurité des placements à revenu fixe, immobiliers et/ou du « cash » lorsqu'ils sont volatils ou orientés à la baisse.

Au travers de cette approche, vous n'obtiendrez donc pas systématiquement le rendement maximal dans des marchés orientés positivement. Par contre, vous pourrez limiter les pertes liées aux marchés baissiers.
 

Avantages

  • Rendement : Vous êtes assuré d'être présent sur les marchés lorsqu'ils sont haussiers.
  • Sécurité : Vous évitez d'importantes surprises désagréables en cas de marchés baissiers.
  • Diversification : Un portefeuille asymétrique est par nature largement diversifié.

 

Les risques d'investissement

Les investissements comportent, de par leur nature, un facteur de spéculation et de risque inhérent aux incertitudes des marchés financiers et des produits financiers (ainsi que de leurs valeurs sous-jacentes et/ou émetteurs).
 

BNP Paribas Fortis Private Banking ne contracte généralement qu'une obligation de moyens dans le cadre de ses services d'investissement.

 
 

 

Plus d'informations à propos du risque d'investissement

 

 Découvrez ce service en détail

Le mandat « Portfolio Fund Management Asymmetric » se base sur une stratégie d'investissement plus souple que l'offre de référence (benchmark). Il se concentre sur un éventail d'instruments financiers à caractère asymétrique. En d'autres termes, chaque fonds (OPC) retenu dans notre sélection possède son propre modèle de contrôle et de gestion du risque, et réagit, par conséquent, de manière différenciée face aux changements de conditions du marché.
 

BNP Paribas Fortis Private Banking propose 5 compartiments différents, adaptés à votre profil de risque : Conservative, Defensive, Balanced, Dynamic et Growth. Une moins-value sur le portefeuille (perte en capital) ne peut toutefois pas être entièrement exclue.

Les cycles boursiers tendent à se raccourcir. Il convient, dès lors, de rester vigilant pour sauvegarder les performances boursières lorsque les marchés financiers sont en baisse. Cet argument plaide en faveur des fonds asymétriques, qui sont plus dynamiques et donc plus actifs par rapport aux cycles que les fonds traditionnels.
 

Si associer plusieurs solutions asymétriques au sein d'un portefeuille est déjà, en soi, une excellente approche, l'optimalisation de la gestion de portefeuille par la sélection et la pondération des multiples solutions asymétriques s'avère encore plus efficace.

 

Notre équipe de spécialistes expérimentés assurera ce suivi en faisant évoluer les portefeuilles de référence – un par profil de risque/rendement – sur base des situations de marchés et de notre stratégie d'investissement. Les décisions de gestion sont suivies en permanence et immédiatement implémentées dans votre portefeuille par l'équipe de gestionnaires.

De lourdes pertes ont un impact majeur sur les bénéfices et les résultats futurs de votre portefeuille d'investissements. Dans l‘hypothèse d‘un mouvement baissier des marchés financiers, votre gestionnaire attitré met tout en œuvre pour limiter la performance négative sur un an à un niveau prédéfini de commun accord avec vous. Aucune garantie ne peut toutefois être donnée quant à la réalisation de cet objectif de défense. Une diminution du capital investi ne peut pas être totalement exclue.
 

De manière générale, les fonds asymétriques ne bénéficient pas non plus pleinement, en raison de leur stratégie défensive, des hausses boursières.

Le mandat « PFM Asymmetric » est une solution appropriée dans le cadre d'une donation bancaire avec charge financière si vous présentez un profil risque/rendement de type Conservative, Defensive ou Balanced. N'hésitez à interroger votre private banker à ce sujet.

 

Pour plus d'information, contactez le Private Banking Centre le plus proche

 

 

Imprimer tous les détails de ce produit