What is ‘phishing'?


Criminals use phishing – a pun on ‘fishing' – as a way of picking up information by phone or e-mail. That information then allows them to enter payments in your name. Customers of several Belgian banks have already been targeted by phishing attempts.

How phishing works by e-mail

You receive an e-mail, apparently from the bank or an official body, inviting you to click on a link. If you do so, you're taken to a website closely resembling the bank's official site.

You then have to enter confidential information. This is supposedly necessary in order to:

  • Activate your account;
  • Reactivate your account;
  • Check your account details;
  • Resynchronise the system following an update;
  • Prevent the data from being lost;
  • Maintain security.

Several other bogus reasons might also be used. You should never respond to such requests: under no circumstances will the bank ever ask you for confidential information by e-mail. If you receive such a request, therefore, a whole series of alarm bells ought to ring


How phishing works by phone

You receive a phone call following on from an earlier e-mail or perhaps even without one. The caller introduces him or herself as an employee of the bank, the bank's Helpdesk, or from some other official-sounding institution. He or she will then try to get you to divulge all sorts of information. Never respond to this: under no circumstances will the bank ever ask you for confidential information by phone. Terminate the call immediately. If you were able to read the number using your phone's caller-ID, please pass it on as quickly as possible to the PC banking Helpdesk. We will then investigate, in consultation with the police. Because secure online banking is in all our interests.


What should you always/never do?

  • Never respond to e-mail or phone requests to hand over confidential, personal financial information (card details, passwords, PIN codes, challenges, responses, etc.).
  • Have you received a phishing e-mail? Let us know straight away via the Web Security form, send a email to phishing@bnpparibasfortis.com or phone the PC banking Helpdesk on 02 433 43 31 (NL) or 02 433 43 32 (FR).
  • Did you pass on any confidential information? If so, call our PC banking Helpdesk immediately on 02 433 43 31 (NL) or 02 433 43 32 (FR).
  • Some websites are deceptively accurate. How can you be sure you're looking at the real BNP Paribas Fortis website?
    • The address you read in the address bar at the top of your browser should always begin with https://. That extra ‘s' stands for ‘secure';
    • You can also check the address by clicking on the little padlock icon. It should end in bnpparibasfortis.be. Pay particular attention to correct spelling;
    • When it comes to secure internet use, it's better to be too suspicious than too trusting. Cybercriminals are becoming more enterprising all the time, so a healthy dose of suspicion is always advisable when you're online. If you have the slightest suspicion that something is wrong when banking online, exit immediately and contact the PC banking Helpdesk.


Read the Belgian banks' recommendations about phishing

Watch a remarkable video about the importance of taking care online.

Qu'est-ce que le phishing ?

 

Le phishing (ou hameçonnage) est une technique utilisée par les malfaiteurs en vue de soutirer des informations confidentielles par téléphone ou par e-mail. Ils utilisent ensuite ces données pour effectuer des paiements en votre nom. Des clients de différentes banques belges ont déjà été victime de tentatives de phishing.

 

Phishing par e-mail

Vous recevez un e-mail qui est apparemment envoyé par votre banque ou par un organisme officiel. Vous êtes invité à cliquer sur un lien. Vous arrivez alors sur un site qui ressemble comme deux gouttes d'eau au site officiel de la banque.

Sur ce site, vous devez introduire des données confidentielles pour soi-disant :

  • activer votre compte;
  • réactiver votre compte;
  • contrôler les données de votre compte;
  • permettre une nouvelle synchronisation du système à la suite d'une mise à jour;
  • éviter la perte de vos données;
  • des raisons de sécurité.

D'autres motifs tout aussi frauduleux peuvent être invoqués. Ne répondez jamais à une telle demande. En effet, la banque ne vous demandera jamais d'informations confidentielles par e-mail. Plusieurs signaux d'alarme doivent donc se déclencher lorsque vous recevez une demande de ce type.

 

Phishing par téléphone

Vous recevez un appel à la suite ou non d'un e-mail précédent. Votre interlocuteur se présente comme étant un collaborateur de la banque, du Helpdesk de la banque ou d'un autre organisme apparemment officiel. Il/elle tente alors de vous soutirer toutes sortes d'informations. Ne lui répondez surtout pas. En effet, la banque ne vous demandera jamais d'informations confidentielles par téléphone. Raccrochez immédiatement. Si vous avez pu identifier le numéro d'appel, transmettez-le sans délai au Helpdesk de PC banking. Nous nous occuperons du dossier, en collaboration avec les services de police. La sécurité de la banque par Internet est en effet l'affaire de tout le monde.

 

Que pouvez-vous faire et que ne devez-vous pas faire ?

  • Ne répondez jamais à un message vous demandant de transmettre des informations confidentielles, personnelles ou financières (données relatives à votre carte, mots de passe, codes pin, challenges, responses, ...) par e-mail ou par téléphone.
  • Vous avez reçu un e-mail avec une tentative de phishing ? Faites-le nous savoir immédiatement via le formulaire Web Security, envoyez un mail à phishing@bnpparibasfortis.com ou appelez le Helpdesk de PC banking au 02 433 43 32.
  • Vous avez communiqué des informations confidentielles ? Appelez directement le Helpdesk de PC banking au 02 433 43 32.
  • Certains sites donnent l'impression d'être authentiques. Comment être sûr que vous vous trouvez sur le véritable site de BNP Paribas Fortis ?
    • L'adresse dans la barre d'adresse située en haut de votre navigateur doit obligatoirement commencer par https://, le 's' signifiant « secure » (sécurisé).
    • Vous pouvez également contrôler l'adresse en cliquant sur la petite icône représentant un cadenas. L'adresse doit se terminer par bnpparibasfortis.be. Faites également attention à l'orthographe.
    • Lorsqu'il s'agit de la sécurité sur Internet, mieux vaut être trop méfiant que pas assez. En effet, les pirates deviennent de plus en plus ingénieux. La plus grande prudence est donc de mise lorsque vous surfez sur Internet. Au moindre soupçon, suspendez vos opérations et prenez contact avec le Helpdesk de PC banking.

 

Les recommandations des banques belges concernant le phishing

Découvrez un film remarquable qui vous montre l'importance de la prudence sur Internet.