All about SEPA

Did you know that SEPA stands for "Single European Payments Area"? Thanks to SEPA, you can carry out your payments within Europe in the same way as in Belgium. It is just as simple, just as secure and just as quick as a domestic payment.


Towards a unified payments area

Alongside the existing national payment systems, European payment systems are being gradually introduced for credit transfers, direct debits and bank cards. These domestic forms of payment will be entirely replaced by European mechanisms and structures from 1 February 2014. For users in SEPA countries (both individuals and businesses), there is no noticeable difference between domestic and intra-Community payments in euros.



  • All European Union Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland (including Åland), France (including Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Martinique and Réunion), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira), Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (including the Canary Islands, Ceuta and Melilla), Sweden and the United Kingdom (including Gibraltar and Northern Ireland).
  • Five other European states: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway and Switzerland. 


History of SEPA


European Payment Services Directive (PSD)


Useful links


All about SEPA


Products you may be interested in: