With SEPA, the acronym for Single European Payments Area, Europe is creating a unified payments area that offers a wide range of benefits to private individuals and businesses. SEPA has three component parts: European direct debits, card payments and European credit transfers. These unified means of payment will co-exist alongside national tools until 1 February 2014, at which point national formats will cease to be used. Find out all about SEPA in the following files.


SEPA at a glance

What is the SEPA? Which countries are part of this area? A list of useful links.

All about SEPA

The European direct debit

European direct debit

The European direct debit will soon replace the Belgian direct debit (DOM80). The domestic formats will cease to be used from 1 February 2014.

More info

Payments by payment card

Thanks to SEPA, users will soon be able to use their bank card perfectly safely and in the same way anywhere in Europe. As a shopkeeper, you will also benefit from the change.

European Payment Services Directive

More info

European transfers

The European transfer is a new payment mechanism that will replace current transfers in euro.

More info


SEPA for businesses

The introduction of SEPA has consequences for businesses. It will now be possible to make payments from and into an account at a bank anywhere in Europe.

Find out more about the consequences for businesses